Are You Willing to Win?

This post by my mentor Tim Marks is one of the best I’ve read about success. Tim’s ability to help those he mentors discover both their strength’s and weaknesses is one of his biggest assets.

This weekend, Amy and I had the privilege of joining Orrin Woodward, Chris Brady and the other members of the LIFE TEAM business in Visalia, California and Columbus, Ohio for our annual Winter Leadership Conventions. One thing I tried to emphasize as I spoke to groups of people who are committed to becoming leaders was the importance of the will to win.

The will to win says, “I will do it, no matter what.”  Of course, “no matter what” involves a lot of hard work. In fact, it’s critical to winning that you be willing to work – and usually, that work begins with working on you! The will to win comes from looking honestly at where you are and deciding where it is you want to go.

I suggested seven questions that a leader should ask of himself, to evaluate where he is and how much he really wants to win.

1. Do I blame others for my lack of success? Every leader will find some kind of failure in victory. Do you blame yourself or others when things go wrong?

2. Do I have to be continually motivated or fired up? There is nothing wrong with being encouraged, but  leaders don’t require others to build them up before they get into action.

3. Am I driven more by looking good and recognition than I am by doing good and being good? Growth in integrity is more important than growth in business, or being recognized for an accomplishment.

4. How do I spend my discretionary time?

5. How do I spend my discretionary money? Where you invest your time and money exposes what things are most important to you.

6. Who are my heroes? Who do you look up to and why do you look up to them? Watch what is going into your mind, because that’s where your heroes come from.

7. When I am alone, what do I dream about? If you dream about the things you claim are valuable, then that will shape your actions. These thoughts will help you become the leader you want to be and develop your will to win.

How do you measure up when you go through these questions? Are you willing to work, and to win?

About

Russ & Rebecca Climie are known to be the best at helping other people reach into the toolbox of leadership to achieve something that matters. They are famous for helping people live the lives they've always wanted, specifically those leaders who are driven to succeed in significant ways and are sick of the apathy, indifference and mediocrity they see all around them.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in LIFE

Leave a Reply

Russ & Rebecca Climie are known to be the best at helping other people reach into the toolbox of leadership to achieve something that matters.

They are famous for helping people live the lives they've always wanted, specifically those leaders who are driven to succeed in significant ways and are sick of the apathy, indifference and mediocrity they see all around them.
Get Leadership Catgeories
Latest Tweets
